BNP Paribas Open Men’s Tennis Champions of the Past

March 15th, 2016 by Do It Tennis

filed in Tennis News

BNP Paribas Open Men’s Tennis Champions of the Past

Novak Djokovic has dominated the BNP Paribas Open, continuing this week in Indian Wells, CA, for the past five years. Djokovic raised the singles winner’s trophy three times (his fourth overall) and made it to the semi-finals in the other two years.

Djokovic (wielding a HEAD Graphene XT Speed Pro Tennis Racquet) is again seeded #1 for 2016. With Roger Federer withdrawing prior to the tournament and second seed Andy Murray losing a third round shocker to unseeded Fedrico Delbonis tennis fans are wondering who can stop Novak.

Can Rafael Nadal (seeded 4th) with a Babolat AeroPro Drive again get some hard court success in Indian Wells? Will big serving American star John Isner and his Prince EXO3 Warrior 100 battle his way back to a BNP Paribas finals tennis court? What about powerhouse third seed Stan Warwrinka with his Yonex VCORE Tour G Tennis Racquet?

Past men’s singles tennis champions

2015 Novak Djokovic in a repeat final won defeating Roger Federer.
2014 Novak Djokovic outlasted Roger Federer in a third set tiebreaker.
2013 Rafael Nadal defeated surprise finalist Argentinian Juan Martin Del Potro.
2012 Roger Federer won over American John Isner in straight sets.
2011 Novak Djokovic won over Rafael Nadal in a seesaw three-setter.

2016 BNP Paribas Open

The BNP Paribas Open is celebrating its 40th event this year. Played at sunny Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, the tennis tournament is the first of nine ATP World Tour Masters 1000 events. One of the most popular non-Grand Slam tournaments, total attendance is expected to approach 500,000.

Keep up with the men’s singles championship tennis action at the tournament site.


Who do you think can knock Djokovic off the BNP Paribas Open champions pedestal this year?
Any other un-seeded sleepers have a shot?
Join the tennis conversation on Facebook or Twitter