Free Shipping
on orders over $49.99*
*some restrictions apply

BNP Paribas Open Women’s Tennis Past Champions

March 17th, 2016 by Do It Tennis

filed in Tennis News

BNP Paribas Open Women’s Tennis Past Champions

The women’s singles quarterfinals at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, CA, saw at least some vindication as several top 25 WTA players battle for a semi-final berth.

Serena Williams slinging her Wilson Blade 104 got revenge for her 2015 finals loss to Simona Halep. Williams won 6-3 and 6-4. Halep fired away with a Wilson Burn FST 99 tennis racquet but came up short.

In Wednesday’s other matchup, Agnieszka Radwanska, playing with a Babolat Pure Drive Lite 2015 advanced by winning in straight sets over Petra Kvitova using a Wilson Pro Staff 97 tennis racquet.

On Thursday, Victoria Azarenka will use a Wilson Ultra 97 tennis racquet to get closer to adding another BNP Paribas Open trophy to match her 2012 victory. She’s facing unseeded Magdalena Rybarikova.

Karolina Pliskova with a Babolat Pure Drive Play will go against the Russian 19 year old Daria Kasatkina on Thursday for one of the final semifinal slots.

No single woman player has dominated the tennis tournament in recent years.

Women’s singles tennis past champions

2015 Simona Halep beat Serena Williams in a 3-set slugfest.
2014 Flavia Pennetta seeded #20 dominated that year’s #1 seed Na Li in two sets.
2013 Maria Sharapova handily defeated Caroline Wozniacki 6-2, 6-2.
2012 Victoria Azarenka won over Maria Sharapova in a #1 and #2 seed final matchup.
2011 Caroline Wozniacki took three sets to prevail over Marion Bartoli.

2016 BNP Paribas Open

This is the 27th year the women have had a tournament at sunny Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. One of the most popular non-Grand Slam tournaments, total attendance is expected to approach 500,000.

Keep up with the women’s singles championship tennis action at the tournament site.


What’s your view?
Will Serena Williams easily march to victory this year?
Who is your favorite for the other half of the draw?
Join the tennis conversation on Facebook or Twitter