Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters Tennis Champions of the Past

April 7th, 2016 by Do It Tennis

filed in Tennis News

Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters Tennis Champions of the Past

As the ATP Masters 1000 World Tour heads into the 2016 Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters Tennis Championship this week, the question still remains: Who among the Monte-Carlo tennis champions can stop the Serbian onslaught of Novak Djokovic?

Men’s Singles Tennis

Djokovic heads into the principality along the brilliant blue Mediterranean Sea with two straight men’s singles tennis titles. He won both the Miami Open presented by Itaú in Florida and the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, California. And Djokovic (wielding a HEAD Graphene XT Speed Pro tennis racquet) already won the Monte-Carlo tennis tournament in 2015 and 2013.

Rafael Nadal and his Babolat AeroPro Drive will be a factor. Nadal dominated the Rolex Masters with 8 straight tennis singles wins from 2005 to 2012. That includes in 2008 being both singles tennis champion and doubles tennis champion (with fellow Spaniard Tommy Robredo). That hasn’t been done at the Monte-Carlo event since Ile Nastase captured both crowns in the early 1970s.

There are many other contenders. The 2014 Rolex Masters winner Stan Wawrinka with a Yonex VCORE Tour G tennis racquet is always a powerhouse to watch. Roger Federer who skipped both Indian Wells and Miami will try to bounce back with his Wilson Pro Staff RF97 Autograph tennis racquet. Current #2 Andy Murray is also among our favorites in the ATP Top 25 players that will be batting in Monte-Carlo for a spot on the finals tennis court.

Men’s Doubles Tennis

The legendary Bryan brothers are the team to beat in the doubles bracket. Mike and Bob Bryan have dominated the tournament winning 4 out of the 5 last years. The Americans were even finalists in that 5th year losing to Julian Benneteau and his partner Nenad Zimonjic at the end of 2013’s epic 12-14 third set tiebreaker. Zimonjic himself has five Monte-Carlo doubles tennis championships over the years.

Monte Carlo singles tennis champions of the past

• 2015 Novak Djokovic
• 2014 Stan Warwrinka
• 2013 Novak Djokovic
• 2012 Rafael Nadal
• 2011 Rafael Nadal
• 2010 Rafael Nadal
• 2009 Rafael Nadal
• 2008 Rafael Nadal
• 2007 Rafael Nadal
• 2006 Rafael Nadal
All singles tennis champions

Monte Carlo doubles tennis champions of the past

• 2015 Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
• 2014 Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
• 2013 Julian Benneteau/Nenad Zimonjic
• 2012 Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
• 2011 Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
• 2010 Daniel Nestor/Nenad Zimonjic
• 2009 Daniel Nestor/Nenad Zimonjic
• 2008 Rafael Nadal/Tommy Robredo
• 2007 Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
• 2006 Max Mimyi/Jonas Bjorkman
All doubles tennis champions

2016 Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters Tennis Championship

The tennis tournament held at the Monaco Country Club is one of the premier clay court ATP events in the 2016 tennis season. The tennis tournament was first held in 1897 and since 1968 has been an open era professional circuit event. It is the first of three ATP Masters 1000 events being held at the Monaco club.

Keep up with the all the tennis action, draws and results at 2016 Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters Tennis Championship tournament website.

What’s your view?

Who is most likely to knock Djokovic off his Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters pedestal? Do you think there are any surprises in the draws this year?

Join Do It Tennis in the conversation on Facebook or Twitter